Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Geoff Carr Lupus Fellowships

Fellowship to a USA, Canada, or International
Doctor for Training and Research

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Lupus Ontario

Deadline Date:

12/18/19 5:00 PM Receipt


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowship opportunity for a USA, Canada, or International rheumatologist for training in the treatment of lupus in Ontario. Preference will be given to applicants from Canada. The fellow will participate in clinical research, follow patients at an accredited lupus clinic, and supervise the care and education of patients.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 164468

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The stipend attached to the Geoff Carr Lupus Fellowship will be $65,000 Cdn.

Term of Contract:

Geoff Carr Lupus Fellowships are awarded for a period of 12 months only. These awards are not renewable, but a previous Fellowship awardee may re-apply once after one year.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

- Candidates for a Geoff Carr Lupus Fellowship will have completed his/her core training in Internal or Pediatric medicine, and at least two years of rheumatology.
- This award is open to both Canadian and international applicants. Preference will be given to Canadian applicants.
- Awards can only be held at accredited Lupus Clinics as defined by Lupus Ontario criteria: availability of at least 100 patients, associated with an Arthritis Centre at an Ontario medical school; available data accumulation - retrieval system to follow patients; appropriate academic and administrative personnel; designated clinical area and access to laboratory and in-patient facilities.
- The following are accredited Lupus Clinics (as at September 2019):
The Ottawa Hospital - Ottawa, Ontario
The Hospital for Sick Children - Toronto, Ontario
Hamilton Health Sciences, MacMaster Division - Hamilton, Ontario
University of Toronto Lupus Clinic - Toronto Western Hospital
Arthritis Institute at St. Joseph's Health Care Centre - London, Ontario

Pre-Application Information:

Applications for for the Geoff Carr Lupus Fellowships must be submitted on the application form no later than 5 PM December 18, 2019. Incomplete or late applications will not be accepted. Applications for the academic year 2020-2021 must reach Lupus Ontario no later than this date.

Tenure of this Fellowship will normally commence on October 1, but Lupus Ontario may, on request, authorize a different date of commencement.

Awardees are expected to devote themselves for a period of 12 consecutive months wholly to the objectives of the Fellowship. During that time, awardees are not permitted to receive remuneration for any other work or hold a second major scholarship, except that, with the approval of their supervisors, they may engage in and accept remuneration for such departmental activities that are conducive to their development as clinicians, teachers or investigators. If the Fellowship is held for less than 12 months, Lupus Ontario should be notified. A pro-rated reduction in the stipend will be made.

Candidates must arrange their own place of training at an accredited lupus clinic in Ontario for one year.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online grant management system:

Should you require any additional information on the adjudication process, please contact:
Arthritis Society, Research at (416) 979-7228 or email

For all other inquiries please contact:
Lupus Ontario at (905)-415-1099 or by email to or

Lupus Ontario
25 Valleywood Drive, Suite 21, Markham, ON, L3R 5L9
Phone: 905-415-1099 or 1-877-240-1099
Fax: 905-415-9874

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.