Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Fellowship Programs

Fellowships to USA Post-Doctoral Investigators
for Research in Child and Adolescent Mental Health

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Klingenstein Third Generation Foundation (KTGF)

LOI Date:


Deadline Date:

01/10/20 11:59 PM EST


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of $30,000 per year to USA post-doctoral investigators for research in child and adolescent ADHD, depression, and access to mental health care. Applicants must first be nominated by pre-approved institutions. Funding is intended for candidates at American medical institutions for research projects that will directly benefit children and their families.

The Foundation particularly wishes to support two-year research projects that could lead to larger projects worthy of federal funding and other national research awards. Institutions should nominate candidates who have strong evidence of independent research ability potential and who are planning a career in research related to child and adolescent psychiatry or developmental psychopathology.

The Foundation desires that the research it supports produce a direct and tangible benefit to children and their families. As such, applicants should be certain to explain, in clear terms designed to be understood by lay people, how their research project will help children and families suffering from these conditions.

Access to care projects need not focus specifically on the target areas of ADHD and depression but, if they do not, they should at a minimum have wide-spread applicability to child and adolescent psychiatric disorders. Projects that focus on ADHD or depression should indicate the desired impact on those conditions; those that do not should indicate how the project impacts child and adolescent psychiatric conditions more generally and potential applicability to ADHD and depression more specifically.

The Foundation wishes to fund innovative projects to improve access to care, broadly defined. Examples could include (but are not restricted to): training non-psychiatrists to provide mental health services in underserved areas, novel approaches to improve access to healthcare - including both service delivery models and other supportive considerations such as financing, improving the portability of services, using technology such as tele-psychiatry, removing legal, regulatory or other known barriers to access to care.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 176009

Number of Grants:

Up to 5

Estimated Size of Grant:

The grant awards are for $30,000 per year for two years.

Term of Contract:

Grant awards are for two-year research projects.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The Foundation expects institutions to nominate post-doctorial investigators holding a Ph.D. and/or M.D. who have also completed all clinical training. As a general rule, nominated candidates should be at the junior faculty level or on a trajectory for attaining faculty status; applications nominating candidates in T32 or other designated research training programs will be considered.

Investigators who have already received R01 awards from NIMH are not eligible for nomination. Investigators who have K awards or have applied for K awards are eligible for nomination, provided the K award (if has been funded) does not overlap with the proposed project. Investigators who have not applied for K awards and hope to use a KTGF fellowship as a stepping stone to a K award or other funding are encouraged to apply. While fellows may be selected prior to receipt of IRB approval, no fellowship award is finalized until such approval is received.

The KTGF agrees that as much as 10% of the award may be allocated to indirect costs without penalty, although it reserves the right to consider the requested amount of indirect costs when making decisions regarding its awards. Also, please note that any such indirect expenses will be deducted from the awarded funding.

Pre-Application Information:

The schedule for the application process is as follows:

- September: Nomination round is opened online 9:00 am EST September 1
- November: Nominations are due 11:59 pm EST November 15
- December: Fellowship Applications are invited
- January: Fellowship Applications are due 11:59 pm EST January 10
- March: Awards are announced late March

The Foundation accepts nominations only from the Chair of Departments of Psychiatry. Each medical institutional must select only one research project and investigator for nomination per fellowship. In addition to the Department Chair’s endorsement, the Foundation also requires a mentor to sponsor the project and investigator. The primary mentor must be on site.

The Foundation runs a two-stage selection process. In its first round - the nomination entry - the Foundation requires the institution to nominate its selected project and primary investigator. If the nomination requirements are met, the Foundation will invite the institution to its second round, the submission of a full fellowship application.

Feedback will be given on all applications and candidates may reapply. KTGF offers feedback with the hope that it will be helpful in advancing each applicant’s research career. The feedback will reflect the most salient responses from the selection committee but is not intended as a comprehensive summary.

For information about the application process:

Detailed instructions are available at

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Register and apply online:

Sally Klingenstein Martell
Executive Director

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming