Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Volvo Environment Prize

Award to a USA, Canada, or International Scientist
for Environmental and Sustainability Research

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Volvo Environment Prize Foundation

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or International individual scientist or group of scientists to recognize outstanding research contributions to the field of environmental sustainability. Nominations are accepted for scientists specializing in a broad range of disciplines relating to the environment and sustainability. The nominee's research should be based on scientific grounds but must clearly show impacts outside of the specific discipline, such as impacts on policy development, sustainability, or contribution to changed behavior.

Since the first award in 1990 the Volvo Environment Prize has become one of the scientific world’s most respected environmental prizes. The Prize is awarded to individuals throughout the world for outstanding innovations or scientific discoveries, which in broad terms fall within the environmental and sustainability field. While there are many outstanding biologists and environmental scientists among the laureates, the span of disciplines and activities for which nominations can be made is wide and includes all disciplines which have relevance to the environment.  So previous laureates also include economists, urban development experts, energy specialists, poverty adversaries and many others who are exploring the path to sustainability.

Nominations must include a detailed description of the research the nominee has conducted and how it adds to knowledge around environmental science.  Main scientific achievements and their importance should be emphasized. 

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 177460

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The Prize consists of a hand-crafted diploma, a glass sculpture and a cash award for SEK 1.5 million (approximately EUR 145,000 or USD 167,000).

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The Prize is awarded to individuals throughout the world.

Nominations of a group may be submitted, where a group of named individuals may consist of a maximum of 3 persons.

Anyone may nominate a person for the Volvo Environment Prize.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Pre-Application Information:

Nominations for the award in 2020 must be submitted before January 10, 2020.

A Scientific Committee reviews the nominations and presents a report to the international Prize Jury. The Jury recommends one or several winners to the Board of the Volvo Environment Prize Foundation, which then makes the formal decision. The decision is made public in October and the prize is awarded in November each year at a ceremony held in Stockholm, Sweden.

When submitting nominations for a group of named individuals please send one nomination for each person (maximum 3 persons) and specify in the description of achievements that the nomination is for a shared prize.

A nomination remains valid for three years.


Nomination form:


Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online Nomination Form:

If you prefer you may send the nomination by e-mail to:

If you prefer you may send the nomination by post to:

The Volvo Environment Prize Foundation
c/o Christina Leijonhufvud
The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Box 50005
SE-104 05 Stockholm, Sweden

Telephone: +46 8 673 95 31

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.